Sunday Live in Abruzzo: Civita D’Antino – Art & Aspiration in Abruzzo’s Mountain Villages

 


Join LifeInAbruzzo on Zoom,  with special guest Dr James Schwarten, who will discuss the little-known and enchanting history of a community of Scandinavian painters in the remote Abruzzo mountain village of Civita D’Antino.

This community provides a fascinating entry-point through which we consider the social, cultural and economic changes that have played witness to the village’s dramatic transformation over the last century and poses an apparent paradox: in today’s hyper-connected world, how can we explain the ongoing obscurity of villages like Civita D’Antino, when just 100 years ago they were thriving, self-sustaining communities?

The chat will be in English, with plenty of time for questions in English or Italian!

Sunday 24th May, 5.15 pm CET, 4.15 pm BST, 11.15 am EDT


James Schwarten teaches courses in sociology and Italian literature and language in American institutions of higher learning in Rome. He co-curated the 2014 exhibit Impressionisti Danesi in Abruzzo at the National Gallery of Art’s Museo Andersen.

How to Join the Online Talk

Simply register for the free Zoom event on Eventbrite here and you will be emailed the secure link ready for Zoom on Friday 22nd May with a reminder on Sunday 24th May

 

 

View the Town Today

Civita D’Antino

 

Sam Dunham
Author: Sam Dunham

Sam is a very lucky midlife 'mamma' to A who is 12 and juggles her work as a self-employed freelance SEO food and travel copywriter and EFL teacher. She is the founder of the Life In Abruzzo Cultural Association, co-founder of Let's Blog Abruzzo. she is the founder of the 'English in the Woods' initiative, teaching English outdoors in a forest style school.


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Tradurre »